Diana Ross and Pet Shop Boys take Glastonbury’s final day by storm with…

June 27, 2022, 11:32 | Updated: June 27, 2022, 11:51 AM

After Paul McCartney possessed Saturday night, a few other legends go back to the Glastonbury years,

The likes of Kendrick Lamar and Billie Eilish won rave reviews for their superb sets at Glastonbury – back after a two-year hiatus due to COVID-19 – but it wasn’t just the new generation who impressed this weekend -end.

Paul McCartney closed the Pyramid Stage with a career-spanning set on Saturday night, featuring special guests Dave Grohl and Bruce Springsteen – as well as singing a virtual duet with his late Beatles bandmate John Lennon.

Sunday, Diana Ross played the traditional Legend’s Slot on the main stage, following in the footsteps of Lionel Richie, Kylie Minogue, Neil Diamond, Leonard Cohen and Dolly Parton.

And the other scene was headlined by Pet Shop Boys, with Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe bringing their greatest hits tour to Worthy Farm.

Ross kicked off with his huge 1980 disco hit “I’m Coming Out,” written by Bernard Edwards and Nile Rodgers of Chic, before playing a medley of his solo songs, covers, and tracks from his former band The Supremes.

Diana Ross on the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury 2022

Diana Ross on the Pyramid Stage at Glastonbury 2022.

Getty Images

She included a trio of songs from her recent comeback album Thanksand closed the set with a blistering rendition of Gloria Gaynor’s “I Will Survive.”

Diana Ross’ full setlist was as follows:

  1. I go out
  2. More today than yesterday
  3. my world is empty without you
  4. Baby Love
  5. Stop! In the name of love
  6. You can’t rush love
  7. Chain reaction
  8. Thanks
  9. tomorrow
  10. If the world had just danced
  11. I am still waiting
  12. Upside down
  13. Love Hangover / Take Me Higher / Ease on the Road
  14. Why fools fall in love
  15. Mahogany theme (do you know where you are going)
  16. There’s no mountain high enough
  17. I will Survive

The Pet Shop Boys set got off to an inauspicious start when Chris Lowe started the gig behind the screens due to technical difficulties.

Neil Tennant was undeterred, however, and powered through a handful of hits, starting with “Suburbia”.

After a few songs, Tennant told the crowd “The other will soon reveal itself” and Chris finally emerged during “Left to my Own Devices”.

Years & Years frontman Olly Alexander joined the band for a rendition of their collab “Dreamland,” from their latest album. Hotspot.

Neil Tennant of the Pet Shop Boys at Glastonbury 2022

Neil Tennant of the Pet Shop Boys at Glastonbury 2022.

Photo: Getty Images

After closing their main set with ‘It’s A Sin’, Chris and Neil returned for an encore of ‘West End Girls’ and ‘Being Boring’, dedicating their set to the victims of the recent shooting at Oslo Pride.

The full Pet Shop Boys setlist was as follows:

  1. Suburb
  2. Can you forgive him?
  3. Opportunities (Let’s earn a lot of money)
  4. Where the streets have no name (I can’t take my eyes off you)
  5. Lease
  6. I don’t know what you want but I can’t give it to you anymore
  7. Very difficult
  8. Left to my own devices
  9. domino dance
  10. love comes fast
  11. Losing the mind
  12. You were always on my mind
  13. Dreamland
  14. Heart
  15. It’s OK
  16. vocal
  17. go west
  18. It’s a sin
  19. West end girls
  20. be boring

Source link

Back To Top